Paes, Raja Headline Doubles Play at JSM Challenger

URBANA, Ill.  – Leander Paes and Purav Raja headlined doubles play inside a packed Atkins Tennis Center on Wednesday night at the JSM Challenger. The No. 1 overall seeds topped lucky losers, Alex Brown and Zeke Clark, 6-4, 6-1.

In singles play, six of the seven remaining seeded players advanced in the draw. No. 3 seed, Taylor Fritz, defeated qualifier, Ronnie Schneider, 6-4, 6-3 and No. 4 seed, Cameron Norrie, topped Jared Hiltzik, 6-2, 6-4.

Canada’s Filip Peliwo defeated No. 2 seed, Henri Laaksonen, 6-3, 7-5 to continue his run in the JSM Challenger.

Thursday matches will feature the one Illini left in the draw, Ruan Roelofse. Roelofse is scheduled to play doubles not before 6 p.m. on Thursday with Joe Salisbury. The duo will take on the pairing of Hach Verdugo and Martinez.

About the USTA Pro Circuit

With approximately 90 tournaments hosted annually throughout the country and prize money ranging

from $10,000 to $100,000, the USTA Pro Circuit is the pathway to the US Open and tour-level competition

for aspiring tennis players and a frequent battleground for established professionals. The USTA launched

its Pro Circuit in 1979 to provide players with the opportunity to gain professional ranking points, and

it has since grown to become the largest developmental tennis circuit in the world, offering nearly

$3 million in prize money. Last year, more than 1,000 men and women from more than 70 countries

competed in cities nationwide. John Isner, Maria Sharapova, Andy Murray, Caroline Woznaicki, Kei

Nishikori, Victoria Azarenka and Sam Querrey are among today’s top stars who began their careers on

the USTA Pro Circuit.

Follow the USTA:



Follow the Illini: