Leander Paes Headlines JSM Challenger Doubles Draw

URBANA, Ill.  – The 2017 JSM Challenger doubles main draw was released on Sunday afternoon, headlined by No 1-overall seed, Leander Paes and Purav Raja. The duo won the Knoxville Challenger on Sunday afternoon and will begin play in Champaign on Tuesday night.

Qualifying singles play on Sunday saw No. 1 seed, Alexander Ward {Great Britain} defeat Trey Yates {USA} to advance in the draw. In qualifying doubles play, current Illini, Alex Brown and Zeke Clark, defeated fellow Illini, Caleb Chakravarthi and Noe Khlif, 6-3, 6-2.

The singles main draw was announced with Tennys Sandgren {USA} receiving the No. 1 overall seed. Four current and Illini are slated to compete in the singles main draw, Aron Hiltzik, Jared Hiltzik, Dennis Nevolo and Aleks Vukic will represent the Orange and Blue beginning on Monday night.

About the USTA Pro Circuit

With approximately 90 tournaments hosted annually throughout the country and prize money ranging

from $10,000 to $100,000, the USTA Pro Circuit is the pathway to the US Open and tour-level competition

for aspiring tennis players and a frequent battleground for established professionals. The USTA launched

its Pro Circuit in 1979 to provide players with the opportunity to gain professional ranking points, and

it has since grown to become the largest developmental tennis circuit in the world, offering nearly

$3 million in prize money. Last year, more than 1,000 men and women from more than 70 countries

competed in cities nationwide. John Isner, Maria Sharapova, Andy Murray, Caroline Woznaicki, Kei

Nishikori, Victoria Azarenka and Sam Querrey are among today’s top stars who began their careers on

the USTA Pro Circuit.

Follow the USTA:



Follow the Illini: